我們的服務 / 唇齶裂手術

唇齶裂手術

唇裂是上唇分裂或分離形成的差距導致。在唇口區域,該間隙在足夠的組織的情況下,導致一個不正確的接合。腭裂是一個分裂的屋頂口,無論是在骨前部或軟部分。胎兒階段在懷孕期間發生唇裂和腭裂,在美國是最常見的出生缺陷。唇齶裂手術有助於糾正這些缺陷,令患者可以過正常的生活。

唇裂和腭裂對孩子有著生理和心理問題。唇裂會導致孩子說話困難,扭曲發音的聲音。腭裂的情況下,食物和液體可從口通入鼻。此外,腭裂導致液體流入中耳,這可能會導致耳朵感染和喪失聽力。如果沒有唇齶裂手術,兒童可能會變得害羞和自我意識,失去信心和自尊,因此它們有著改變外觀和心理的效用。

多倫多整形外科醫生洪嘉良醫生通過唇齶裂手術糾正這些問題。 在孩子正常的身體發育的時間,部分唇裂手術通常是當孩子是10週歲時,腭裂手術通常是在9到18個月之間。雖然在大多數情況下,一個單一的手術糾正這些條件是不足夠的,醫生會建議他的病人,在孩子漸漸長大後,可額外在唇口進行手術,改善有關的變化。

唇齶裂手術是在全身麻醉下進行。唇裂的情況下,每一側的間隙的切口,創建護翼組織。縫合襟翼的聚集和縮小差距的地方。腭裂手術遵循一個類似的過程,用特殊的技術移動肌肉和軟組織,上腭硬部份,兩側切口縮小差距。外科醫生可以使用溶解或縫線方法縫合切口。

手術後一個星期,患者通常被要求留在多倫多有手術設施的醫院。完全康復可能需要長達三個星期。患者和他們的家長都事先充分聽取有關如何防止感染,如何保持傷口癒合,以及如何清理唇口。患者通常需要戴夾板或其他設備,以防止他們接觸或開放傷口。

Dr. Colin Hong is a Board certified Toronto Plastic Surgeon serving cosmetic surgery patients from across the GTA including Toronto, North York, Richmond Hill, Scarborough and Mississauga.

REVIEWS & TESTIMONIALS

“Read real stories of some of Dr. Hong’s patients and their experience after having undergone cosmetic enhancement”

REVIEW ME
BrightLocal
Our POPULAR SERVICES

Please feel free to contact us for emergency case.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit rem autem voluptatem obcaecati lienum phaedrum torquatos nec eu, vis detraxit periculis ex.

as

Cleft Lip and Palate Surgery

Our Services / Understanding Cleft Lip and Palate Surgery

Cleft Lip and Palate Surgery

A cleft lip is a split or separation of the upper lip resulting in a formed gap. The gap is a result of the absence of adequate tissue in the lip and mouth area, resulting in an improper joining of what tissue is available. A cleft palate is a split in the roof of the mouth, either in the bony front part or the soft back part. Both cleft lip and cleft palate conditions occur in the fetus stage during pregnancy, and they are among the most common birth defects in the United States. Cleft lip and palate surgery help to correct these defects so patients may lead a normal life.

 

Cleft lip and cleft palate present both physical and psychological problems for a child. A cleft lip will cause a child to have trouble speaking and distort the sound of the voice. In the case of a cleft palate, the gap allows food and liquids to pass from the mouth to the nose. Additionally, cleft palate causes fluid to collect in the middle ear, which can cause ear infection and hearing loss. Besides the physical issues, without cleft lip and palate surgery, children can become shy and self-conscious and lose confidence and self-esteem because of their appearance and the physical effects.

 

Correcting these conditions through cleft lip and palate surgery is among the specializations of Toronto plastic surgeon Dr. Colin Hong. Cleft lip surgery is usually done when the child is 10 weeks of age, if the rest of the physical development is normal. Cleft palate surgery is normally done on a child between 9 to 18 months. While in most cases a single surgery is enough to correct these conditions, Dr. Hong advises his clients that as the child becomes older, additional procedures can be required to accommodate changes in the lip and mouth caused by growth.

 

Toronto cleft lip and palate surgery is done under general anesthesia. In the case of a cleft lip, incisions are made on each side of the gap and flaps of tissue are created. The flaps are brought together and sutured in place to close the gap. Cleft palate surgery follows a similar procedure with incisions made on both sides of the cleft and special techniques used to move muscles and the hard and soft parts of the palate to close the gap. Surgeons may use either dissolving or removable stitches to close the incisions.

 

Patients are normally required to remain in the Toronto hospital or surgical facility for up to a week after the surgery. Complete recovery may take up to three weeks. Patients and their parents are fully briefed in advance on how to prevent infection, how to ensure that the healing wound is not stretched and how to clean the lip and mouth. Patients are usually required to wear splints or other devices to prevent them from touching or opening the wound.

 

Dr. Colin Hong is a Board certified Toronto Plastic Surgeon serving cosmetic surgery patients from across the GTA including Toronto, North York, Richmond Hill, Scarborough and Mississauga.