我们的服务/多伦多表皮囊肿切除

什么是表皮囊肿?

表皮囊肿,也称为表皮样囊肿,皮脂囊肿,内含物囊肿或角蛋白囊肿,是皮下的小,无痛,良性,生长缓慢的肿块。这种囊的特征是充满了灰白色,难闻的,俗气的类似角蛋白的囊,通常在脸,头皮,耳后,脖子,上背部,胸部或生殖器中发现。表皮囊肿通常是由痤疮或皮肤损伤引起的毛囊阻塞或皮脂腺的阻塞引起的,皮脂腺的分泌会分泌油性物质以润滑皮肤和头发。它们在男性而非女性中更常见,在年轻至中年成年人中更常见。一些患有罕见综合征的人也可能会遇到无数表皮囊肿是症状之一。但是,这些表皮囊肿几乎总是非癌性的,很少引起问题或需要治疗。

有哪些体征和症状?

表皮囊肿在皮肤下表现为小肿块。有时它会从囊肿的囊腔内排出一种臭味,俗气的物质。感染后,它还会发红,发炎和疼痛。有时,在囊肿上可能会出现一个小角。如果您遇到这些症状,请与您的家庭医生确认这是良性表皮囊肿。

表皮囊肿的例子术中表皮囊肿的图片

我可以接受哪种测试?

通常,医生仅通过肉眼检查就可以识别出表皮囊肿。可能需要进行身体检查,或转介皮肤科医生。整个病变的手术切除可能有助于确定诊断并消除对恶性肿瘤的担心。

有哪些治疗选择?

通常,不需要立即治疗表皮囊肿。如果它不是恶性的,则保持原状不会对健康造成危害。然而,许多患有表皮囊肿的人的确倾向于寻求治疗,特别是因为病变总是持续增长的。如果囊肿处于刺激性位置(例如在梳理头发时头皮),或者已经被感染,通常是出于美容原因。对于不同种类的治疗方法,有很多可能的选择。类固醇注射可以减轻囊肿的炎症,但不能将其清除。手术引流包括切开囊肿,引流脓液然后去除囊壁,但这会留下一部分囊肿,使其复发。如果囊肿被感染,可以开抗生素处方,但这同样不能消除囊肿本身。治疗表皮囊肿的唯一确定方法是手术切除。 Hong博士更喜欢执行此方法,从而完整切除包括囊壁及其内容物在内的整个囊肿。这种方法将所有囊肿遗留的可能性最低,从而减少了囊肿重新生长的机会。

我对手术有什么期望?

去除表皮囊肿的手术程序非常容易。手术本身通常需要大约15分钟。将使用局部冷冻,并且将手术时间增加约20-30分钟以使冷冻得以进行。但是,由于局部冷冻,患者以后将适合开车回家。样本被切除后,将被送往实验室进行任何恶性肿瘤检查并确认诊断。将需要缝合,通常将在5-14天后将其拆除,具体取决于手术的大小和位置。即使在拆线后仍会发红,但在4-6个月后几乎看不到疤痕。局部冰冻消失后,疼痛应降至最低或无疼痛,但如果有泰诺增强强度,则可以服用。

有什么风险?

切除表皮囊肿的风险非常少,但可能包括感染,缝合反应,出血,瘀伤和疤痕。请与您的医生谈谈您正在服用的任何药物,以及过去是否有异常疤痕(瘢痕loid或肥厚性疤痕)。

它要花多少钱?

不幸的是,OHIP并未涵盖去除表皮囊肿的手术。建议与洪医生协商以找出您手术的确切价格。如果没有您的家庭医生的推荐,则需要支付80美元的咨询费,但这笔费用将用于支付手术费用。后续约会(例如移除缝合线)不收取额外费用。

在大多伦多地区,洪博士被认为是非常有成就的 多伦多鼻子手术耳外科额头提拉 和整容专家。他也有助于 眼睑手术多伦多 患者实现了更年轻,更有活力的面部轮廓的目标。

点评与推荐

“阅读Hong博士的一些患者的真实故事以及接受美容治疗后的经历”

评论我
BrightLocal
我们的热门服务

如有紧急情况,请随时与我们联系。

洛雷姆·伊普苏姆·多洛尔(Lorem ipsum dolor)坐镇,因流浪者卷起而迷失了自闭症,但事情的乐趣并不乐观,被我的力量拖到了危险之中。

as

Epidermal Cyst

Toronto Epidermal Cyst Removal

Epidermal-Cyst

What is Epidermal Cyst?

An epidermal cyst, also known as an epidermoid cyst, sebaceous cyst, inclusion cyst or keratin cyst , is a small, painless, benign, slow-growing bump under the skin. Characterized by a sac filled with a greyish-white, foul-smelling, cheesy-like substance called keratin, they are usually found on the face, scalp, behind the ears, neck, upper back, chest or genitals. Epidermal cysts are usually caused by the blockage of a hair follicle by acne or injury to the skin, or blockage of a sebaceous gland, which excretes an oily substance to lubricate the skin and hair. They occur more commonly in males rather than females, and more often in young to middle aged adults. Some people with rare syndromes may also experience numerous epidermal cysts are one of the symptoms. However, these epidermal cysts are almost always non-cancerous and rarely cause problems or require treatment.

What are the signs and symptoms?

An epidermal cyst appears as a small lump under the skin. It can sometimes excrete a foul-smelling, cheesy-like material from inside the sac of the cyst. When infected, it can also be red, inflamed and painful. Occasionally, a little horn may develop over the cyst. If you are experiencing these symptoms, check with your family doctor that it is a benign epidermal cyst.

 

epidermal_cyst2 epidermal_cyst1           epidermal_cyst4 epidermal_cyst3

                               Examples of epidermal cysts                                                                                     Intraoperative Picture for epidermal cysts

What kind of tests can I undergo?

A doctor can usually identify an epidermal cyst just by visual inspection. A physical exam may be needed, or a referral to a dermatologist. Surgical excision of the entire lesion may help to confirm the diagnosis and to eliminate any fears of malignancy.

What are the treatment options?

Usually, no immediate treatment is necessary for epidermal cysts. If it is not malignant, it would not be harmful to one’s health to leave it as it is. However, many people with epidermal cysts do tend to seek treatment, especially since the lesion is always continually growing. This is usually for cosmetic reasons, if the cyst is in an irritating location (like in the scalp while combing hair), or if it has become infected. There are a number of possible options for different kinds of treatments. A steroid injection may reduce the inflammation of the cyst, but it does not remove it. Surgical drainage consists of cutting open the cyst, draining the pus inside and then removing the cyst wall, but this can leave some part of the cyst behind, allowing it to recur. Antibiotics can be prescribed if the cyst is infected, but again this does not get rid of the cyst itself. The only definitive method of treatment for epidermal cysts is surgical excision. This is the method that Dr. Hong prefers to perform, whereby the entire cyst, including the cyst wall and its contents, are removed intact. This method has the lowest probability of leaving any of the cyst behind, reducing the chances of the cyst growing back.

What can I expect from surgery?

The surgical procedure to remove an epidermal cyst is quite easy. The surgery itself would typically take approximately 15 minutes. Local freezing would be used, and about 20-30 minutes would be added to the surgery time to allow for the freezing to set in. However, because of the local freezing, the patient would be fit to drive home afterwards. Once the specimen has been excised, it will be sent to a lab to be tested for any malignancy and to confirm the diagnosis. Stitches will be needed, and will typically be removed 5-14 days later, depending on the size and location of surgery. Redness is normal even after the stitches have been taken out, but after 4-6 months the scar should be hardly visible. There should be minimal to no pain after the local freezing has worn off, but Tylenol Extra Strength can be taken if there is.

What are the risks?

The risks of excising an epidermal cyst are very rare but can include infection, suture reactions, bleeding, bruising, and scarring. Please speak to your doctor about any medications you are taking and if you have had abnormal scarring (keloids or hypertrophic scars) in the past.

How much will it cost?

Unfortunately, the surgery to remove an epidermal cyst is not covered by OHIP. A consultation with Dr. Hong is recommended to find out the exact price for your procedure. Without a referral from your family doctor, an $80 consultation fee will be required, but it will be applied towards the cost of the surgery. There is no additional fee for follow up appointments such as the removal of sutures.

In the greater Toronto area, Dr. Hong is regarded as a highly accomplished Toronto nose surgery, ear surgery, brow lift and facelift specialist. He is also instrumental in helping eyelid surgery Toronto patients attain their goal of a more youthful, dynamic facial profile.